Big plans for Nashville short track

Associated Press

NASHVILLE, Tenn. — The Nashville Fairgrounds Speedway would be renovated and run by Bristol Motor Speedway in a deal designed to bring NASCAR racing back to the historic short track that first opened in 1904.

Nashville Mayor John Cooper signed a letter of intent Friday along with Marcus Smith, president and CEO of Speedway Motorsports President, which owns Bristol Motor Speedway, for a track that hasn’t hosted NASCAR’s top level of racing since 1984.

“The goal of the partnership is to bring our historic racetrack back to life as a valuable and exciting part of the Fairgrounds,” said Mayor John Cooper.

Nashville will fund renovations for the track by issuing bonds up to $50 million. Bristol would be responsible for future renovations and upkeep and must sign a long-term contract to lease and manage the track, which must be approved by both the local fair board and Nashville council.

Bristol also would lease all the fairgrounds property for four weeks a year for $1 million to host major racing events. The company would be responsible for managing renovations to both the half-mile oval track and facility, which is adjacent to the soccer-only stadium being built for Nashville’s MLS team.

“The dream of Nascar returning to the historic Nashville Fairgrounds is another step closer to reality,” Dale Earnhardt Jr. wrote on social media.

The Nashville Superspeedway, a 1.33-mile, D-shaped oval about 30 miles east, is owned by Dover Motorsports, Inc. That track will host its first NASCAR Cup Series race on June 20.

Bristol Motor Speedway already has two NASCAR Cup Series races at the half-mile track 290 miles east of Nashville in Tennessee.

“We’re ready to roll up our sleeves and go to work to fully restore the speedway, recruit national events and breathe new life into a venue that has a legendary status in auto racing history,” Smith said.


Nemechek beats boss

LAS VEGAS (AP) — John Hunter Nemechek beat boss Kyle Busch, ending Busch’s three-race winning streak at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, with a victory in Friday night in the NASCAR Truck Series race.

Nemechek this year stepped down two levels from the Cup Series to drive a truck for Kyle Busch Motorsports. He figured in the right equipment, he could show he should race at NASCAR’s top level.

In just his third race driving for Busch, Nemecheck led Busch across the finish line for a 1-2 KBM finish. It was Nemechek’s sixth career Truck Series victory, first since 2018. He spent 2019 in the Xfinity Series and last year running Cup.

“We’re here for wins,” Nemechek said.

Busch rallied from a lap down to finish second.

“It’s cool to see John Hunter have a shot and get back in victory lane,” Busch said.

Nemechek had just three top-10 finishes in Cup last year and was out of his ride at the end of the season. Rather than join a team not capable of winning races, he dropped down to drive Busch’s truck to prove he’s competitive.

He got a big push from Busch on a restart with six to go and then drove away from Busch. It was the first win of what Busch believes can be a big season for the 24-year-old.

“Maybe he’ll win eight, 10 races and get back upstairs,” Busch said.


Pennzoil 400 lineup

3:30 p.m. Sunday (Fox)

at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Lap length: 1.5-mile tri-oval

(Lineup set by performance formula)

(Car number in parentheses)

1. Kevin Harvick (4)

2. William Byron (24)

3. Kyle Larson (5)

4. Martin Truex Jr. (19)

5. Michael McDowell (34)

6. Denny Hamlin (11)

7. Kurt Busch (1)

8. Chase Elliott (9)

9. Alex Bowman (48)

10. Brad Keselowski (2)

11. Tyler Reddick (8)

12. Austin Dillon (3)

13. Ryan Newman (6)

14. Kyle Busch (18)

15. Joey Logano (22)

16. Christopher Bell(20)

17. Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (47)

18. Chris Buescher (17)

19. Ryan Preece (37)

20. Cole Custer (41)

21. Ross Chastain (42)

22. Daniel Suarez (99)

23. Bubba Wallace (23)

24. Chase Briscoe (14)

25. Justin Haley (77)

26. Ryan Blaney (12)

27. Anthony Alfredo (38)

28 Aric Almirola (10)

29. Erik Jones (43)

30. Matt DiBenedetto (21)

31. Garrett Smithley (53)

32. Cody Ware (51)

33. Corey LaJoie (7)

34. BJ McLeod (78)

35. Josh Bilicki (52)

36. Quin Houff (00)

37. Joey Gase (15)

38. Timmy Hill (66)


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today