McComas, Potts reach milestones

WINTERSVILLE — Beaver Local won four weight classes in cruising to a Buckeye 8 Athletic League wrestling championship on Saturday at Indian Creek Middle School.

Winners for the Beavers included Jaymin Salsberry (126), Cole McComas (145), Jonathan Potts (152) and Daniel Wirth (285).

McComas became the Beaver Local all-time wins leader during the tournament, while Potts also earned his 100th career win.

McComas now has 165 career wins as he surpassed four-time state qualifier and 2019 graduate Beau Smith.

“Saying I am proud of Cole would be an understatement,” Beaver Local coach Johnny McComas said. “Being the all time wins leader for a program with such a rich tradition is an accomplishment that he should be extremely proud of. His preparation is what sets him apart. The way he approaches wrestling from his training, diet, thinking and passion are elite. His focus is impressive to say the least.”

Smith was on hand to watch Cole McComas break his record.

“It was great to see Beau Smith there to support Cole,” Johnny McComas said. “Being genuinely happy for someone to break your record describes the type of person he is. We call this program a family for a reason, and Beau is everything I hope for our wrestlers to become. I can’t say enough about his character and the love we have for him.”

Potts has reached the 100-win mark as a junior.

“Jonathan is an outstanding individual on and off the mat,” Johnny McComas said. “Reaching 100 career victories in his junior season is a great accomplishment. His ability on the mat is obviously impressive, but what he represents is what I am most proud of. His work ethic, positive attitude, and passion for the sport are second to none. He has a bright future ahead of him.”

East Liverpool’s weight class champions included Howard Williams (132) and Skylor Wooley (220).

Beaver Local will return to action on Saturday in the Div. II Steubenville sectional, while East Liverpool will wrestle in the Div. II sectional at Claymont.

STANDINGS: 1. Beaver 234.5; 2. Indian Creek 202; 3. Martins Ferry 153; 4. Buckeye Local 98; 5. East Liverpool 96; 6. Harrison Central 87; St. Clairsville 87; 8. Union Local 82.5; 9. Bellaire 49; 10. Edison 30.


First: Justin Sampson 10, Harrison Central

Second: Kaydon Bobby 9, Beaver

Third: Dylan Ward 9, Martins Ferry

Fourth: Clay Akers 9, Union Local


First: Trevor Herbert 10, Buckeye Local

Second: Justin Bucheit 12, East Liverpool

Third: Tyler Sipes 10, Indian Creek

Fourth: Cameron Henderson 11, Beaver


First: Nate Witsberger 9, St. Clairsville

Second: Nathan Cox 11, Beaver

Third: Servacio Lopez 9, Harrison Central


First: Jaymin Salsberry 10, Beaver

Second: Shane Lucey 10, Indian Creek

Third: Alex Wood 9, St. Clairsville

Fourth: Landon Crum 9, Union Local


First: Howard Williams 11, East Liverpool

Second: John Woodburn 11, Beaver

Third: C.J. Spencer 9, Indian Creek

Fourth: Nathaniel Gibson 10, Union Local


First: Brian Palmer 11, Buckeye Local

Second: Dominic Paterra 9, Indian Creek

Third: Dorian Jackson 10, Beaver

Fourth: Brody Myers 9, Union Local


First: Cole McComas 12, Beaver

Second: Hayden Johnson 12, Edison

Third: Jeremy Brown 11, Indian Creek

Fourth: Kaleb Bailey 11, East Liverpool


First: Jonathan Potts 11, Beaver

Second: Brady Crum 11, Union Local

Third: Austin DaRe 11, St. Clairsville

Fourth: Reese Spencer 10, Indian Creek


First: Cody Albaugh 12, Bellaire

Second: Chase Goff 11, Martins Ferry

Third: Bryce Wade 12, Harrison Central

Fourth: Claude Romshak 11, Union Local


First: Kameron Hughes 11, Martins Ferry

Second: Hayden Wallace 12, Harrison Central

Third: Brandon Mamie 10, Bellaire

Fourth: Gavin Dondzila 10, Indian Creek


First: Austin Starr 10, Indian Creek

Second: Charles Smith 12, Buckeye Local

Third: Nicholas Wukotich 12, Beaver

Fourth: Noah Duck 11, Martins Ferry


First: Reese Skaggs 11, St. Clairsville

Second: Elijah Llewellyn 9, Indian Creek

Third: Richard McFarland 12, Martins Ferry

Fourth: Alexio Morales 11, Buckeye Local


First: Skylor Wooley 12, East Liverpool

Second: Zakary Dobson 10, Martins Ferry

Third: Tyler Smarrella 12, Indian Creek

Fourth: Tristan Murphy 10, Beaver


First: Daniel Wirth 12, Beaver

Second: Ezekiel Bruney 10, Martins Ferry

Third: Evan Merryman 12, Indian Creek

Fourth: Jamison Stiles 9, Edison


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)