Kehres on ESPN’s list of greatest college coaches

ALLIANCE — As part of ESPN’s year-long initiative marking the 150-year anniversary of college football, ESPN has ranked the 150 greatest college football coaches of all time.

Former Mount Union football coach and current athletic director Larry Kehres is on the list at No. 28. In 27 seasons at Mount Union, Kehres’ teams won 11 NCAA Division III national titles, 21 unbeaten regular seasons and 23 conference championships. His teams had NCAA record winning streaks of 54 and 55 games. His .929 winning percentage is the best among any coach at any NCAA level and he was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame in 2017.

“The lifespan of a game is measured in hours. A team comes and goes in a season. A player lasts no more than four years; But a coach? A coach is different. Coaches define eras. In a sport in which we root for laundry, a coach humanizes those colors, becomes as much a symbol as the mascot,” said Ivan Maisel, the writer that is the point person for ESPN on its CFB 150 coverage.

A panel of 150 media members, athletic administrators and former players and coaches selected the coaches on a list that includes Paul “Bear” Bryant at No. 1, Nick Saban at No. 2, Woody Hayes at No. 9, Amos Alonzo Stagg at No. 14, Lou Holtz at No. 23, Bob Stoops at No. 29, Jim Tressel at No. 35, Urban Meyer at No. 46 and Earle Bruce at No. 107.

Earlier this year, ESPN recognized Mount Union at No. 16 on its list of greatest programs in college football history while the 2012 Purple Raider team, which went 15-0 and won the team’s 11th national title in Larry Kehres’ final game as head coach, was the only NCAA Division III team on a list greatest seasons complied by ESPN.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)