Southern tops district picks

CANTON — Southern Local, coming off its first 10-0 season, grabbed top honors on the 2019 Northeast Inland All-District high school football team released today.

The Indians placed three players on the Division VI district first team with senior receiver Cam Grodhaus being named the offensive co-player of the year and Rich Wright the co-coach of the year.

Grodhaus was a big-play maker for the Indians, who averaged 45.4 points during the regular season. Grodhaus had 30 catches for 505 yards (16.8) and seven touchdowns, ran 34 times for 490 yards (14.4) and 11 touchdowns, scored two touchdowns on punt returns and another on a kickoff return.

He is joined on the first team by senior safety Jayce Sloan and senior offensive lineman Stephen Craig.

Sloan shined in the secondary, getting 33 tackles with four interceptions, returning two for touchdowns.

Craig was the leader of the offensive line as a four-year starter.

Also gaining first-team honors in Division VI are Columbiana senior defensive lineman Cody Miller, Columbiana senior linebacker Jakob Cross, Springfield senior receiver Garrett Walker, Springfield sophomore quarterback Beau Brungard and Springfield junior kicker Clay Medvec.

Miller was a relentless defender, piling up 91 tackles with 24 for losses and 13 quarterback hurries.

Cross was a two-way standout for the Clippers, totaling 83 tackles with 12 for a loss and three forced fumbles.

Walker, Brungard and Medvec led the Tigers to a 10-0 regular season and 15 straight regular-season victories.

Salem and Leetonia both had two first-team honorees.

Senior receiver Niko Walter and senior linebacker Cade Campolito represent the Quakers, who went 8-2 and advanced to the Division IV playoffs.

Walter was a versatile threat for the Quakers as he averaged 314 yards of offense per game. He had 24 catches for 362 yards (15.1) and six touchdowns, ran 119 times or 718 yards (6.0) and six touchdowns and passed for 946 yards and nine touchdowns.

Campolito totaled 130 tackles at middle linebacker and added 1,019 yards rushing at running back.

In Division VII, Leetonia senior defensive lineman Connor Hicks, Leetonia junior running back Marco Ferry and Wellsville senior defensive back Darien Suggs were named to the first team.

Hicks dominated play up front the Bears, collecting 65 tackles and forced two fumbles.

Ferry ran for a school-record 1,915 yards and 23 touchdowns on 205 carries (9.3).

Despite missing the last four games with a broken arm, Suggs had 50 tackles and seven interceptions, returning two for touchdowns.

West Branch senior offensive lineman Max Craig was named to the Division III first team, while South Range landed five players on the Division V first team.

Craig is a four-year letterman for the Warriors and an outstanding lineman.

South Range, which advanced to the second round of the Division V playoffs, placed junior receiver Chris Brooks, sophomore running back Dylan Dominguez, senior quarterback Isaac Allegretto, junior defensive lineman Anthony Czap and junior defensive lineman Jake Gehring

Allegretto passed for 1,415 yards and 19 touchdowns and ran for eight more touchdowns during the regular season.

Dominiguez ran for 947 yards and 11 touchdowns on 120 carries (7.9), while Brooks had 18 catches for 400 yards (22.2) and six touchdowns.

Czap had 24 tackles with nine for losses in six regular-season games and Gehring had 28 tackles with 13 for losses and two fumble recoveries.

Teams were selected by a media panel from the district.

Other honorees

District second-team selections include Crestview junior running back Ethan Powell and South Range junior punter Trey Pancake in Division V; Columbiana senior receiver Chase Franken, Western Reserve senior receiver Todd Henning, Springfield senior offensive lineman Corey Hatton, Springfield junior offensive lineman Brady Brungard, Southern senior running back Dylan Milhoan, United senior running back Tyler Lippiatt, Southern senior linebacker Mark Soukup, Columbiana junior linebacker Jack Carney, Springfield senior linebacker David Duvall and Western Reserve senior defensive back Jimmy Mayberry in Division VI.

Receiving honorable mention were West Branch’s David McKeiver in Division III; Salem’s Zach Murray, Jax Booth and Carson Stockman in Division IV; Crestview’s Anthony Cusick and Wyatt Babik in Division V; Southern’s Hunter Morris and Bradly Sloan, Columbiana’s Tyler Zigotti and Hunter Zentner, United’s Deric Ellyson, Western Reserve’s Christian Rowley, Lucky Kiesewetter and Josh Miller and Springfield’s Evan Ohlin in Division VI; Lisbon’s Chase McCoy, Wellsville’s Caden Weekley and Draven Crow and Sebring’s Zane Peterson and Carson Rouse in Division VII.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)