Joseph, Pierson at OAC

TWINSBURG — Two local runners finished in the top 10 at the Ohio Athletic Conference Men’s Cross Country Championships on Saturday.

Mount Union freshman Jeff Joseph from West Branch was fifth (25:57.2) and John Carroll sophomore Ian Pierson from South Range was 10th (26:12.6) out of 149 runners.

Otterbin senior Chase Hampton, who transferred from Lipscomb before last season, won third race this season. He covered the 8K course at Liberty Park in 25 minutes, 29.9 seconds. He was the runner-up last year.

Otterbein captured its second straight men’s title with 41 points, three better than John Carroll. Mount Union was third with 68 points..

John Carroll freshman Sydney Jenko became the third runner in program history to win the OAC meet as she topped 113-women’s runners in 22:28.7 over the 6K course.

Mount Union sophomore Brianna Biery from West Branch was 61st (25:57.9) and Baldwin Wallace sophomore Jenna Daulbaugh from Minerva was 74th (26:33.5).

Jenko led John Carroll to its third team title with 41 points. Baldwin Wallace was second with 49 points.

YSU’s lineup

HIGHLAND HEIGHTS, Kentucky — The Youngstown State women’s cross country team is filled with local runners and all finished in the top 35 at the Horizon League Championships on Saturday.

Former Louisville High School standout Morgan Cole was named the Freshman of the Year after placing sixth out of 99 runners with the second-fastest time in YSU history in 20 minutes, 52.9 seconds on the 6K course at at Valhalla Cross Country Course.

The YSU women finished second with 56 points, nine behind Oakland (Mich.)

Following her for the Penguins were junior Nicole Squatrito from Jefferson Area in seventh (20:59.7), junior Natalie Fleming from Woodridge in eighth (21:03.6) sophomore Maggie Sebest from Poland in 15th (21:13.3) junior Ashleigh Rowley from Western Reserve in 20th (21:31.1), junior Xena Maali from South Range in 30th (22:02.0) and sophomore Mackenzie Scott from Minerva in 35th (22:10.1).

All seven local runners were state qualifiers in high school.

Oakland junior Maggie Schneider won the race (19:45.1), becoming the first in Horizon League history to win three consecutive titles. Cleveland State freshman Haley Rozeski from Salem was 78th (23:59.8).

IUPUI won the men’s team title with 53 points, followed by Oakland with 72, YSU 77 and Milwaukee 78.

Oakland sophomore Connor Goetz topped the 89-runner field in in the men’s 8K ( 24:06.7).

Junior Cole Lovett from Carrollton was YSU’s sixth runner and finished 37th overall (25:38.1).

Kimpel at PAC

NEW WILMINGTON, Pa. — Seniors Heidi Hoffman from McDonald and Madelyn Kimpel from South Range are leading the Grove City College women’s cross country team this season.

They guided Grove City to a third-place finish at the Presidents’ Athletic Conference Championships on Saturday.

Waynesburg won its fourth straight women’s title with five runners in the top 13 for 36 points. Geneva was second with 40 points and Grove City third with 84 points.

Waynesburg sophomore Aubrey Wingeart topped the 113-runner women’s field, covering the 6K course through Westminster College in 22 minutes, 51.60 seconds. She was third last year.

Hoffman was third (23:15.15) and Kimpel was 41st (26:03.36).

Bethany sophomore Kelly Hofmann from Austintown Fitch was 55th (26:57.67) and was Bethany’s representative on the PAC Sportsmanship Team.

Saint Vincent had five of the top 14 runners to secure its eighth PAC men’s cross country title with 25 points. Defending champion Washington & Jefferson was second with 46 points.

Saint Vincent senior Will Greene topped the 100-runner men’s field, covering the 8K course in 26:10.75.