A Beaver and two Bears wear crowns

WHEELING, W.Va. — Two fresh faces and one well-traveled veteran brought home Ohio Valley Athletic Conference championships on Saturday at the 64th annual Ron Mauck OVAC Wrestling Tournament at WesBanco Arena.

Beaver Local’s Cole McComas, Oak Glen’s Peyton Hall and Oak Glen’s Robert Bozek all claimed OVAC championships in their respective weight classes to lead area grapplers at the annual event.

McComas, a freshman 106-pounder, defeated Parkersburg South’s Tucker Winland 4-2 to win his first OVAC championship. McComas improved to 2-0 all-time against Winland with his previous win coming in junior high.

McComas is 29-1 on the season with his only loss coming by a 3-2 decision to projected Div. III Ohio state champion Genoa’s Oscar Sanchez.

In the semifinals, McComas beat Steubenville’s Peyton Blasko by a 6-3 decision.

Hall, a 120-pound freshman, handed Shadyside senior Greg Quinn his first loss of the season with a 13-6 decision victory in the championship final. Hall is now 28-1 on the season, while Quinn, a four-time OVAC placer and a Div. III state runner-up in Ohio last season, falls to 28-1.

Hall also defeated University’s Jacob Simpson by a by a pin in 2:37 during the semifinals. Hall had defeated Simpson earlier this season with a 16-0 technical fall in December.

Bozek, a 138-pound senior, scored two late points to defeat John Marshall’s Anthony Carman 4-2 to produce Oak Glen’s second OVAC champ on the night. Bozek, 28-4 on the season and 138-30 in his career, won for the second time in three tries against Carman this season.

Bozek will look to capitalize on this momentum as he looks to become the fifth three-time West Virginia state champion in history when state tournaments start later this winter. Earlier in the day, Bozek knocked off Beaver Local’s Noah Smith 9-0 to reach the final.

Beau Smith, a sophomore, dropped a 8-6 overtime decision to Parkersburg South’s Zane Hinzman in the 152-pound final. Smith, who finished fifth in last year’s OVAC tournament, pinned Bridgeport’s Santino Kusic in the semifinal in 5:58. He has a 28-5 record this season.

Hinzman, 15-2, was ranked No. 1 in the state of West Virginia at 152 pounds.

In consolation action, Beaver Local’s Skyler Lasure was fourth at 120 pounds after dropping a 3-2 decision versus University’s Jacob Simpson in the third-place final.

Quinton Bookman, a top seed in the 132-pound bracket, dropped a 3-1 sudden victory decision to Madonna’s Alec Cook in the semifinal. Bookman rebounded to dump Linsly’s Tommy Curtin by a 3-1 count in the third-place final. Cook later won the 132-pound championship.

Noah Smith scored a fourth-place finish after being pinned by Steubenville’s Anthony Rice in the 138-pound third place match.

The third-place match at 182 pounds provided a local connection as Crestview’s Daniel Morgan took on Beaver Local’s Chad Mays. Mays secured a 9-6 decision to gain third. Earlier in the day, Mays was pinned in 21 seconds in his semifinal with Parkersburg South’s Hunter DeLong earlier in the day. DeLong ended up winning the weight class title and is the ninth four-time OVAC champion in the tournament’s history.

Austin Mayfield was the highest placer for the Potters as he came in fourth at 195 after a loss to Meadowbrook’s Jud Ramage in the third-place final. Mayfield was pinned in 1:39. The Potter also dropped his semifinal to Martins Ferry’s Dalton Hoover by a 22-7 technical fall. Hoover, who was a runner-up at the Div. III Ohio state tournament last year, later won the 195-pound championship.


In the 106-pound fifth-place match, Oak Glen’s Ty Logston pinned University’s Matthew Simpson in 49 seconds.

In the 113-pound fifth-place match, Oak Glen’s Shawn Moore won an 8-2 decision over Parkersburg South’s Ian Irizarry.

In the 170-pound fifth-place match, Oak Glen’s Stevie Coolwon a 7-2 decision over Buckeye Local’s Jason’s Binkiewicz.


In the 126-pound seventh-place match, Cambridge’s Alex Good defeated East Liverpool’s Gage Walker 7-6.

In the 132-pound seventh-place match, Crestview’s Andrew Hardenbrook beat Steubenville’s Michael Gray 2-1.

In the 145-pound seventh-place match, Beaver Local’s Jared Wright scored a 13-0 major decision over Oak Glen’s Jonathan Creese.

In the 152-pound seventh-place match, Steubenville’s Nick Scott scored an 11-0 major decision over East Liverpool’s Matthew Ketchum.

In the 160-pound seventh place-match, East Liverpool’s Anthony Mecum knocked off Martins Ferry’s Drake Dobson with a pin in 2:34.

In the 170-pound seventh place-match Crestview’s Dakota Stratton pinned Beaver Local’s Daniel Wirth in 43 seconds.


Parkersburg South blew away the competition to win the overall team title. Steubenville was second. Beaver Local was third. Class champions were Parkersburg South (5A), Steubenville (4A), Martins Ferry (3A) and Shadyside (1/2A).


106: Cole McComas (Beaver Local) dec. Tucker Winland (Parkersburg South), 4-2

113: Tim Young (Steubenville) dec. Abe Frizell (Meadowbrook), 10-4

120: Peyton Hall (Oak Glen) dec. Greg Quinn (Shadyside), 13-6

126: Luke Martin (Parkersburg South) dec. Caleb Rea (Weir), 4-2

132: Alec Cook (Madonna) dec. Josh Kahl (Shadyside), 3-2

138: Robert Bozek (Oak Glen) dec. Anthony Carman (John Marshall), 4-3

145: Jashon Hubbard (Steubenville) dec. Miles Mazik (Indian Creek), 6-1

152: Zane Hinzman (Parkersburg South) dec. Beau Smith (Beaver Local), 8-6 OT

160: John Nash (Wheeling Park) dec. Drew Dunbar (Parkersburg South), 7-2

170: T.J. Lambiotte (Parkersburg South) tech. fall Billy Johnson (Shadyside), 19-4

182: Hunter DeLong (Parkersburg South) pin Nick Valahovic, 2:37

195: Dalton Hoover (Martins Ferry) dec. Justin Allman (Parkersburg South), 7-4

220: Alex Edgell (Brooke) dec. Hunter Bodkin (Martins Ferry), 3-2 4OTs

285: Gage Giovengo (Linsley) dec. Tyler Ely (Steubenville), 4-1


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.50/week.

Subscribe Today