School Notes

Aultman graduates

CANTON — The following local students are fall 2020 graduates from Aultman College:

Bachelor of Science in Nursing Program: Nicole Slys of Alliance (summa cum laude)

Associate of Science in Nursing: Mallory Hughes of Sebring

The following local students made the president’s and dean’s lists for fall semester 2020 at Aultman College:

President’s List: Allison Davis of Carrollton

Dean’s List: Alyssa Geltz of Alliance, Connor Rutledge of Carrollton, Sydni Shaffer of Wheeling

Clarion honors

CLARION, Pa.– The following students earned at least a 3.5 GPA to be named to the Dean’s List for the fall 2020 semester at Clarion University of Pennsylvania: Jocelyn Buchheit of Columbiana, Hannah Wayts of East Rochester, Tamara Boso of Negley.

Mercy College honors

The following students were awarded honors for the Fall 2020 semester at Mercy College of Ohio. To be named on the Dean’s List, a student must achieve a grade point average of 3.3 or higher and be enrolled for 12 or more credit hours. To be named on the Honor’s List, a student must achieve a grade point average of 3.3 or higher and be enrolled for 6-11 credit hours. To be named on the president’s list, a student must achieve a 4.0 grade point average and be enrolled for 14 or more credit hours.

Canfield: Lindsey Capal, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Day, Honors List; Suzanne D’alesio, BS Healthcare Administration, Honors List; Jenna Mamonis, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Eve, Honors List

Columbiana: Brea Neiheisel, BS Nursing (RN-BSN Completion), Honors List

East Palestine: Crystal Ruscoe, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Eve, Honors List

Leetonia: Amanda Baker, BS Healthcare Administration, Dean’s List

New Middletown: Nicole Bovo, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Day, Honors List; Beth Donegan, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Eve, Honors List

New Springfield: Lacey Snyder, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Day, Honors List

Salem: Sarah Royal, Assoc Nursing Youngstown Day, Dean’s List

Geneva honors

BEAVER FALLS, Pa.– Geneva College announces the Dean’s List of undergraduate students for the fall 2020 semester. To be eligible for this recognition, students in traditional programs must earn a GPA of at least 3.6 while passing 12 credit hours or more: Joshua Recktenwald of East Liverpool, Jacob Ford of New Middletown, Kayla Hubbs of Sebring.

Slippery Rock honors

SLIPPERY ROCK, Pa.– Slippery Rock University has announced its Dean’s List for the fall 2020 semester. The dean’s list consists of SRU undergraduate students who earned an adjusted semester grade-point average of 3.5 or higher, based on a schedule of at least 12 newly attempted and earned credits. Local students include: Lydia Baird of Salem, Breanne Dallies of New Waterford, Avery Oates of East Palestine and Megan Hutchman, Jenna Sanfilippo and Rebecca Wright of East Liverpool.

Ohio Wesleyan honors

DELAWARE — Jillian O’Hara and Mackenzie Wade of East Liverpool were named to the Dean’s List at Ohio Wesleyan University. To qualify for dean’s list recognition, students must earn a grade point average of 3.5 or better on a 4.0 scale.

Eastern Gateway

COLUMBUS – Eastern Gateway Community College has earned the Ohio Treasurer’s Compass Award for January.

Ohio Treasurer Robert Sprague announced honorees for the month Friday. The monthly recognition program commends organizations, programs, and individuals across the state who are working to guide Ohioans toward financial literacy and empowerment.

A fast-growing educational center, Eastern Gateway Community College (EGCC) offers a no-cost education to qualifying local students. Through their Career Development Center, EGCC works to equip students with the tools needed to make informed decisions about their degree and career options, as well as education on topics such as creating a resume and interviewing for a job. Additionally, EGCC focuses on building relationships with employers at the local, regional, and national levels to expose students to a wide variety of career and professional pathways.

“With Ohio’s economy and workforce rapidly changing to meet the demands of the future, the importance of financial literacy education for our state’s young people cannot be understated,” said Sprague. “The Compass Award program recognizes the people and organizations creating comprehensive and innovative methods for equipping the next generation with the personal finance skills that will put them on the path to success.”

Crestview plans K registration

NEW WATERFORD — Registration and screening day at Crestview Elementary will be by appointment only on Friday, March 26.

Parents can complete the online pre-registration form that can be found on our website, www.crestviewrebels.org. Parents will then receive an email confirmation including registration information.

To be eligible for kindergarten, your child must be 5 years old by Sept. 30, 2021. State law requires kindergarten experience prior to attending first grade.

If you do not have access to a computer/internet or need assistance with the pre-registration process, contact the school at 330-482-5370, option 4.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today