Tuition Mission scholarships

EAST LIVERPOOL — The Tuition Mission Foundation (TMF) is announcing its tuition award recipients for the 2020-2021 academic year. TMF serves college-bound students in seven school districts in eastern Ohio (Beaver Local, East Liverpool and Wellsville), western Pennsylvania (Midland, South Side and Western Beaver) and northern West Virginia (Oak Glen).

Tuition Mission has made tuition awards totaling $316,250 to 52 students at seven area school districts. The top award is $7,500/student, with most recipients getting this top amount. This is a $500 increase from 2019 – 2020, when the top award was $7,000/student.

Tuition awards are made solely on the basis of financial need. Awards are available for any post-secondary education, from tech and mechanical training to college to graduate school.

Though many recipients graduated from the high schools named for their districts, others were home-schooled or attended non-traditional or independent schools.

TMF was launched in 1962 and has been making tuition awards to students in the area since 1963 (the foundation was known as Dollars for Scholars from 1962 through 2013). In 57 years, TMF has awarded scholarships totaling over $7.5 million. Tuition awards function as interest-free loans. All recipients sign multiple documents promising to repay their awards via monthly repayments once they graduate or discontinue their education.

The 2020 – 2021 recipients are listed belowl.


Beck, Emily Denise — University of Akron, $2,500

Beck, Grace Ann — Kent State, $2,700

Briggs, Brooke L. — Wheeling University, $7,200

Elliott, Courtney M. — Youngstown State, $7,500

Hanlon, Briana D. — Kent State, $4,100

Hilliard, Lauren A. — Bethany University, $7,500

McCoy, Austin J. — Embry-Riddle Aeronautical, $7,500

Moore, Hunter J. — Ohio State University, $7,500

Moore, Zachary R. — University of Akron, $7,500

Ours, Madison K. — Youngstown State, $1,200

Roberts, Sarah E. — Kent State, $3,000

Rogers, Kassandra J. — Kent State, $4,100

Tanner, Jakob T. — Westminster College, $2,400

Turkaly, Parke T. — Youngstown State, $7,500

Vernaccini, Jayden E. — Youngstown State, $6,800

Vernaccini, Madelyn R. — Youngstown State, $7,400

Voorhees, Samantha J. — Clarion University — $3,400

Ward, Cruz J. — University of Akron, $7,500

Yergin, Tanner — Youngstown State, $7,300


Brown, Madison A. — Westminster College, $7,500

Cooper, Ashley M. — Walsh University, $7,500

Davis, Jr., Robert E. — Youngstown State, $6,500

Glendenning, Eric G. — Kent State, $5,200

Gulutz, Gina A. — Youngstown State, $7,500

Hyder, Laran Lee — Regis College, $6,200

Keyes, Sarah E. — Mount Vernon Nazarene, $7,500

Newlin, Hannah — West Liberty, $6,400

O’Hara, Brennan P. — Ohio State, $3,100

O’Hara, Owen R. — Ohio State, $4,900

Webber, Caitlyn R. — Bowling Green, $2,100


Monteiro, Qhamille L. (Beaver Area High School) — Community College of Beaver County, $1,000

Monteiro, Qhmaria N. C. (Lincoln Park Performing Arts Charter School) — Kent State, $7,500


Emerick, Danielle N. — West Virgnia, $4,000

Flowers, Eileen M. — West Liberty, $6,600

Flowers, Noah W. — West Liberty, $6,500

Halstead, Rachel L. — West Liberty, $5,000

Mercer, Bethany J. — Waynesburg University, $7,500

Murphy, Annalise N. — West Liberty, $7,500

Reed, Emma K. — Marietta College, $5,750

Travis, Ethan P. — West Liberty, $4,100


Cerankowski, Tanner C. — Penn State, $7,500

Patterson, Wyatt J. — Community College of Beaver County, $7,500


Blakeley, Joshua K. — Ohio State College of Dentistry, $7,500

Curtin, Hannah E. (Wellsville district) — Point Park, $7,500

Dalrymple, Austin J. — Youngstown State, $6,500

Dalrymple, Benjamin E. — Kent State, $7,500

Mattern, Hunter M.– Saint Joseph’s University, $7,500

Murphy, Kalece E. M. — Malone University, $7,500

Shirley, Haley M. — Kent State, $7,500

Timms, Aaron A. (home-schooled) — University of Central Florida, $7,500


Grubbs, Rachel — Grove City College, $6,400

Miles, Bryttany — Waynesburg University, $7,500

CTC educator recognized

LISBON — William Oesch, Interactive Multimedia instructor at the Columbiana County Career and Technical Center, was recently recognized by Adobe as an Adobe Education Leader. Adobe Education Leaders are “innovative thought leaders in education”.

Adobe looks for people who excel in providing the tools students need to develop creative problem solving skills and encourage students to use critical thinking skills. They also look for educators who establish best practices and work to create a dynamic learning environment not only in their classroom but school-wide.

Oesch was chosen as one of only 340 recipients of this honor out of over 800,000 members worldwide.

Brooke Harper

CLARKSVILLE, Tenn.– Austin Peay State University recognized Brooke Harper from Columbiana as one of the students named to the Dean’s List for academic achievement during the summer 2020 terms.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.39/week.

Subscribe Today