ITCL stars highlight all-district

COLUMBUS – Inter-Tri County League champions South Range and Western Reserve and runners-up Crestview and Wellsville highlight the Associated Press 2013 Northeast Inland All-District football team released Wednesday.

South Range junior running back Joe Alessi and Western Reserve senior quarterback Nick Allison were named offensive players of the year in their respective divisions.

Alessi led the Raiders to an 11-1 season and a third-place state ranking in Division VI as he averaged 9.3 yards per carry, setting school records with 1,721 yards rushing and 174 points scored.

Allison gained the top honor in Division VII as he has directed second-ranked Western Reserve to a 12-0 season. Allison has thrown for 2,234 yards and 22 touchdowns with only three interceptions heading into Saturday’s regional final against seventh-ranked Norwalk St. Paul in Medina.

Twenty one other area players earned first-team Northeast Inland honors.

Crestview, which will play Akron Manchester in a regional final at Minerva’s Hines Stadium at 7 p.m. Saturday, placed three players on the Division V first team.

Senior quarterback Collin Gilbert, senior offensive lineman Clint Linhart and senior defensive lineman Josh McDade have led the Rebels to an 11-1 season, tying the school mark for most wins in a season.

Gilbert has rushed for 1,753 yards and 20 touchdowns and passed for 1,466 yards and 22 touchdowns.

Linhart has paved way for a pair of 1,000-yard rushers and a Rebel offense that averages 42.8 points and 450 total yards a game.

McDade has 58 tackles, including 21 for losses and two fumble recoveries, while setting school receiving records.

United senior defensive back Garrett Beech joins the Rebels on the Division V first team. Beech was the Eagles’ leading tackler with 70 along with five interceptions. He also was a two-time 1,000-yard rusher and 1,000-yard passer.

Salem senior Logan Taylor was named to the Division IV first team. Taylor had a team-high 141 tackle, including 18 for losses, and two interceptions.

South Range placed four players on the Division VI first team – senior offensive lineman Garrett Sorley, senior defensive lineman Jake Ruiz and senior defensive back Billy Goodall join Alessi.

Sorley was a big reason the Raiders averaged 43.4 points and 403 total yards a game in the regular season.

Ruiz and Goodall sparked a Raider offense that limited opponents to 21.2 points a game this season.

Also on the Division VI squad are Columbiana defensive lineman Mike Buzzard along with three Springfield players – senior offensive lineman Gabe Crowe, junior defensive lineman Mark Schuler and junior defensive back Ryan Kohler.

Buzzard totaled 90 tackles, including 12 sacks and 21 for losses, and two fumble recoveries.

Crowe led the way for a Tiger offense that averaged 31.7 points and 341 total yards a game.

Schuler was second on the team with 74 tackles and four sacks. Kohler, a 1,200-yard rusher, made 25 tackles as a cornerback.

Western Reserve placed five players and Wellsville three on the Division VII first team.

Allison is joined by four teammates – junior end Joe Falasca, junior offensive lineman Nick Allison, senior linebacker Dan Zilke and senior punter Parker Clegg.

Wellsville honorees include senior offensive lineman Greg Beatty, senior defensive lineman Seth Bradford and senior defensive back Marcus Moxley.

Beatty led the way for the Tiger rushing attack that averaged more than 9 yards per carry and more than 3,000 yards on the season.

Bradford and Moxley were the leaders of the Wellsville defense that limited opponents to an average of 16.2 points per game.

Also named to the Division VII team are Leetonia senior defensive lineman Zack Van Giesen and Sebring senior running back Dylan Mick.

Van Giesen totaled 69 tackles, including 14 for losses, and two fumble recoveries. He also ran for 1,169 yards on offense.

Mick led the Trojans by running for 1,142 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Receiving honorable mention were Salem’s Marcus Crittenden and Nick Larson and West Branch’s Logan Sharp in Division IV; Crestview’s Jake Ferris, Cody Mackall and Caleb McGath, United’s Mike Martin and Zach Maze and East Palestine’s Nick Monteleone in Division V; Columbiana’s Steve Kurilla, Lisbon’s Austin Rutecki and Shawn McKinnon, South Range’s Zach Baird and Tyler Rothbauer, Southern Local’s Jared Shilot and Mike McKenzie and Springfield’s Anthony Scandy and Mike Allgower in Division VI; Wellsville’s Zack Mellott and Jordan Sloan, Leetonia’s Colton Gudat and Trent Ferry, Western Reserver’s Sam Steininger, Danny Rosati and Jon Timko and Sebring’s Chris Clemens in Division VII.