Beaver Local evaluation policy given first reading

LISBON – The Beaver Local Board of Education heard the first reading of a new teacher evaluation policy during a special meeting Friday evening.

School board President John Campbell and board members Greg Eisenhart and Pat O’Hara heard the first reading of a trio of new policies, among them, the creation of a new teacher evaluation policy that has caused friction between the district and members of the Beaver Local Education Association during recent contract negotiations.

The first reading was passed with no alterations to policy points that had drawn objections from the BLEA at the district’s regular meeting on Monday. The policy, which is intended to create an evaluation system to comply with the Ohio Teacher Evaluation System, had appeared as new business at the June 10 meeting, but died on the floor due to the lack of a motion to pass.

O’Hara seconded the motion by Eisenhart to accept the reading, which passed 3-0. Board members Bill Croxall and Thomas Wolfe were absent, with the three present members comprising the necessary quorum.

After the vote, Superintendent Kent Polen and the board members were asked if they had received any feedback from BLEA members, parents or the public following Monday evening’s meeting. Each replied no.

“No phone calls, nothing,” O’Hara said.

Attempted to reach representatives of the BLEA for comment on Friday evening were unsuccessful. Representatives from the teachers’ union present at the Monday meeting said that BLEA members aren’t opposed to the creation of standards per se, but contend that they haven’t been adequately consulted on the composition of those standards. They also disagree with policy language that includes the new evaluation in subsequent collective bargaining agreements, contract extensions and renewals.

Mandated by the Ohio Board of Education, school districts throughout the state must create their own standards-based teacher evaluation systems for implementation of OTES during the coming 2013-14 school year.