Many will sit out vote

LISBON – The majority of Columbiana County voters will sit out today’s primary election due to the limited number of ballot issues and lack of contested candidate races.

The only people voting today will be in those eight areas where there are ballots issues. As mentioned above, there are no contested candidacy races, so the polling places in communities with candidates will be open only if there is an overlapping ballot issue.

As a result, only 39 of the 89 precincts in the county will be open today, and elections board Director Adam Booth is only predicting a 15 percent turnout among voters in those precincts. Polls open at 6:30 a.m. and close 13 hours later.

Probably the two biggest issues on the ballot are new building improvement levies proposed for the Columbiana and United Local school districts. Others with money issues on the ballot are Center Township, Knox Township, Perry Township, New Waterford, Salineville and the Salem school district.

Meanwhile, Monday was the filing deadline at the county elections board for anyone wanting to run in the November general election as an independent candidate. Following is list of independent candidates by community:


Mayor: David Spatholt.

Council: Daniel Bekar, Crystal Boggs, Richard Simpson, James King, Ted Souder.

Council (term ending Dec. 31, 2015): Richard McBane.

East Liverpool

Treasurer: Kathy Buzzard, Terry Sprague.

Council-At-Large: Lawrence Applegate, Brian Kerr.

First Ward Council: Ray Perorazio.

Fourth Ward Council: Scott Barrett.


Treasurer: John Conrad, Beth Dickey-Thompson.

Council-At-Large: Roy Paparodis, Dan Bailey.


Council: Kevin Siembida, Chris Earl, Susan Buchanan.


Council: Jeff Elliott, Julie Hilliard, Joe Morenz.


Council: Tonda Ross and Rosemary Goss.

Booth said the staff will spend the next month determining the validity of the candidacy petitions before convening a board meeting sometime in June to certify placing their names on the November ballot.